ACL Recovery Day 129

Took a break from my rehab for about a week for the holidays, and haven’t been keeping up with my exercises for the last few days because of New Year’s, but am getting back on track with a good workout today. At my last PT appointment, my physio said that I’ve progressed really well and on track in terms of what activity level is 4 months out. The problem is that she can only do so much for me, so now I’m on the hunt for a new physio focused on basketball-specific training.

My friend is a PT in NYC and I had my first screening with him a few days ago. His assessment of my condition:

  • On track for 4 months from surgery (knew this already)
  • Quad strength is good (but can always be stronger)
  • Glute and hamstrings could be stronger
  • Hip muscles pretty weak on both sides (wtf?)
  • Flexibility needs work

The last two points were surprising to me since I’ve never had any hip strength problems, but now that I think about it, it might be that I never had good hip strength since I’ve don’t consistently do exercises focused on these muscles. The flexibility aspect was also interesting, and he worked on my flexion and extension (pushed me to a little hyper extension) and was able to get my leg to 150 degrees flexion by me laying on my back and bending my leg backwards.

Next Steps

My focus will be on the jumping and agility for the next few weeks, and hopefully getting into a regular routine with my friend who does basketball-specific training. Aside from all the workouts and exercises, dealing with all the logistics of scheduling the training is also a headache (but nonetheless necessary). My original physio accepted my insurance, but my friend’s clinic doesn’t take my insurance so I’ll be paying out of pocket, although we’re going to try to work something out.

When it comes to my healthy, I’ve never been shy about spending the money or resources to get the best treatment, but at times the reality of the cost of healthcare leads me to fall back on what providers accept my insurance. This is always a slippery slope, but in this instance of getting back on the court, I can’t see no other option but to pay for this myself since it’s important to re-gaining a healthy knee for the rest of my life. Once I’ve set up a schedule with my new physio, I’ll still see my old physio for checkups on my progress, but they will most likely be limited to once per month.

Additionally, the surgeon’s rehab protocol kind of “stops” from 4-6 months. The primary goal during this phase (according to the protocol):

Gradual return to athletic activity; Discharge onto home program

The exercises prescribed include “Jumping,” ” Unilateral hopping,” and “Agility drills; running, cutting.” Not super helpful in terms of detail so I’ll have to start doing my own research on what kind of drills and exercises I should be doing to build up the endurance and speed I need to get back on the court. Most likely, it will be a combination of agility and jumping, mixing in the usual strengthening and conditioning exercises I’ve already been doing. On top of this, I need to allocate more time for stretching to re-gain flexibility in my quads (to prevent tightness around my patella). It feels like the exercises just get added on top of each other, I almost miss Day 1 when the main exercise was the leg raise.

Exercises

Not a whole lot of new ones, but I recently purchased an agility ladder to help with all the agility exercises I want to do built speed and quickness. Having a ladder has allowed me to use my creativity and doing exercises that I wouldn’t do otherwise. Who would have thought a simply object as a ladder could be so beneficial for sports recovery?

Leave a Reply

